Home‎ > ‎Services‎ > ‎

Museum Passes

The Howard Whittemore Library offers passes for free or reduced admission to museums and other attractions around the state. Museum passes may only be borrowed by adults with library cards that do not have blocks.
The passes are available on a first come first serve basis. Only one pass may be checked out to a household at any given time and must be returned prior to borrowing another. Passes may be borrowed for three (3) days and must be returned to the Children’s Department of the Library by closing on the due date. Passes may not be returned in the book drop. There is a $10.00 per day late charge for passes not returned on time. Any Library cardholder who loses a pass will be charged a $175.00 replacement cost for that museum pass. Ask the person at the desk in the Youth Services Department for museum pass availability.
  • Art Complex Museum (www.artcomplex.org): 189 Alden Street Duxbury, MA, 781-934-6634
  • Beardsley Zoo-Bridgeport (www.beardsleyzoo.com): Admits 2 adults and 4 children free
  • Bennington Museum (www.benningtonmuseum.org): West Main Street, Bennington, VT, 802-447-1571 (Use the Mattatuck Museum pass)
  • Cape Museum of Fine Arts (www.cmfa.org): Route 6A Dennis, MA, 508-385-4477 (Use the Mattatuck Museum pass)
  • The Children’s Museum in West Hartford (www.thechildrensmuseumct.org): One free admission with each paid admission, up to 4 free per day
  • Connecticut’s Old State House (www.ctoldstatehouse.org): Free admission for 2 adults and 2 children
  • Danforth Museum of Art (www.danforthmuseum.org): 123 Union Avenue Framingham, MA, 508-620-0050 (Use the Mattatuck pass)
  • Discovery Museum-Bridgeport (www.discoverymuseum.org): Admits 2 adults and 4 children free
  • Farnsworth Museum and Library (www.farnsworthmuseum.org)356 Main Street Rockport, ME, 207-596-6457 (Use the Mattatuck pass)
  • Fitchburg Art Museum (www.fitchburgmuseum.org): 185 Elm Street Fitchburg, MA, 978-345-4207 (Use the Mattatuck pass)
  • Imagine Nation Museum-Bristol (www.imaginemuseum.org): Half off each admission.
  • Lyman Allyn Art Museum (www.lymanallyn.org)625 Williams Street, New London, CT, 860-443-2545
  • Maritime Aquarium-Norwalk (www.maritimeaquarium.org): $2 off Aquarium and IMAX tickets for up to 6 people.
  • Mattatuck Museum-Waterbury (www.mattatuckmuseum.org): Admits 4 people free, under 16 free
  • Mystic Aquarium-Mystic (www.mysticaquarium.org): $6 off 2 adults and $4 off 2 children 3-17
  • Naugatuck Historical Society (www.naugatuckhistory.com): Pass allows one family free admission to the Historical Society
  • New Britain Museum of American Art (www.nbmaa.org): 56 Lexington Street, New Britain, CT
  • New England Carousel Museum-Bristol (www.thecarouselmuseum.org): Admits 4 free
  • Newport Art Museum (www.newportartmuseum.org): 76 Bellvue Avenue Newport, RI 401-848-8200 (Use the Mattatuck pass)
  • Peabody Museum of Natural History-New Haven (www.peabody.yale.edu): $5 off up to 4 people
  • Provincetown Art Association and Museum (www.paam.org): 460 Commercial Street Provincetown, MA, 560-487-1750 (Use Mattatuck pass
  • Stamford Museum and Nature Center (www.stamfordmuseum.orgFree admission for one family
  • State Parks and Forest Day Pass-CT Parks & Forests (www.ct.gov/dep/NoChildLeftInside): Free parking, or free admission for 2 adults and 4 children Valid from January through December.
  • The Timexpo Museum-Waterbury (www.timexpo.com): Admits 2 adults and 2 children free
  • Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art-Hartford (www.wadsworthatheneum.org): Admits 2 adults and 2 children (through age 17) free