Home‎ > ‎


The Library's Mission
The Howard Whittemore Memorial Library is a non-profit association library dedicated to providing the residents of Naugatuck with free and reliable access to books and other information resources, as well as educational, cultural, and entertaining programs.

The Library Board

As set forth in the Deed of Gift establishing the Howard Whittemore Memorial Library, John Howard Whittemore transferred the building, grounds and endowment to the Library Board of Trustees. The Trustees, then and now, include a representative from each of the five churches in existence in Naugatuck in 1894.

The Board of Trustees

  • Wayne Buckmiller (St. Francis Roman Catholic Church)
  • Robert (Bob) Delagrange (Naugatuck Congregational Church) 
  • Charley Marenghi, Chairman (United Methodist Church)
  • Debra Levesque (St. Michael’s Episcopal Church)
  • Mary Schmelke, Treasurer (Grace Lutheran Church)

Director of the Library 

      Jessica Jahnke