How to Help the Library

1.) Donate to the library via cash, check, or click on the link below to use PayPal:


2.) Contact the library to volunteer your time or expertise. Call  (203) 729-4591 and ask to speak to our director about volunteer opportunities.


3.) Speak up at local public hearings to tell town officials how much the library is needed, or write to our local newspapers.


4.) Donate print materials – we accept everything except the following: (The library DOES NOT accept) Textbooks, condensed readers’ digests, encyclopaedias, almanacs, and damaged books (including water damage, missing pages, stained pages, or torn covers).

Library Hours



243 Church Street
Naugatuck, CT 06770

Phone: 203-729-4591
Fax: 203-723-1820


Monday: Noon – 6pm
Tuesday: 10am – 8pm
Wednesday: 10am – 8pm
Thursday: 10am – 6pm
Friday: 10am – 4pm
Saturday: 10am – 2pm



Friends of the Whittemore Library

The Friends of the Whittemore Library is a non-profit organization that was founded in 1983 to promote the Howard Whittemore Memorial Library. Through their fund raising activities the Friends organization provides financial support for activities beyond the Library’s operating budget. Fundraisers include the annual Harvest Moon book sale in September on the Naugatuck Green, a perpetual book sale in the lobby of the Adult Department and outside of the Children’s Department, as well as the April membership drive.

Over the last few years, the Friends have provided museum passes, DVD and audio circuit in the adult library, an eReader program, an email service for the library, equipment including new computers for the adult library,  twenty five new chairs for use during library events, and contributions to restore the rotunda.

The officers for the group are: 
Dr. William Sigworth President
Ed Dooling Vice President
Ruth Yachtis Treasurer
Jaime Hammond Secretary

Click here to print out an application to join the Friends of the Library: Friends Membership Application 


The Library Board

As set forth in the Deed of Gift establishing the Howard Whittemore Memorial Library, John Howard Whittemore transferred the building, grounds and endowment to the Library Board of Trustees. The Trustees, then and now, include a representative from each of the five churches in existence in Naugatuck in 1894.

The Board of Trustees

Charley Marenghi, Chairman 
United Methodist Church

William C. Hass, Secretary
Salem Lutheran Church

Jane Walsh, Treasurer
Naugatuck Congregational Church

Wayne Buckmiller
St. Francis Roman Catholic Church

Sandy Mestek
St. Michael’s Episcopal Church


The Directors of the Library

Library Directors

Ellen Spencer (1894 – 1913) • Esther Goodyear (1913 – 1929) • Clara Campbell (1929 – 1930)
his_director1 his_director2 his_director3
Jessie Deshong (1930 – 1954)
Photo courtesy of Gardner-Webb University Library (North Carolina)
Robert Brennan (1954 – 1962) Mrs. William Spearrin & Mrs. Carter Hayward (1962 – 1965)
his_director4 his_director5 his_director6
Merle Bunco (1965 – 1971) Alberta Spearrin Christie(1971 – 1982) Martha Strickland (1982 – 1984)
his_director7Joan Lamb (1984 – July 8, 2011 Jocelyn Miller(July 9, 2011 – Present)